Skip to main content
OCLC Support

Add or delete a collection

Learn how to add or delete a collection in CONTENTdm (new version).

Add a collection

 Roles:  Users with the Administrator or Collection manager role can add a collection. Refer to CONTENTdm (new version) roles

From the Collections screen:

  1. Click on the Add collection button.
  2. Enter a Title for the collection.
    • 255 character limit.
  3. Optional. Enter a Description for the collection.
    • 255 character limit.
  4. Select a Metadata template for the collection. Refer to Metadata templates for more information. 
  5. Select the Collection visibility. Options include:
    • Hidden (default): The collection is hidden from the user-facing site. 
    • Visible: The collection and published items are visible on the user-facing site. 
  6. Optional. Add a Cover image by dropping the file into the gray box or selecting browse files
  7. Click Save

Delete a collection

 Roles:  Users with the Administrator role can delete a collection. Refer to CONTENTdm (new version) roles

From the collections screen, there are two ways to delete a collection:

  1. Click the trash can icon CONTENTdm_trash_can_icon.png under the Actions column. 
    Or
  2. Click into the collection and select the Delete button from the collection page. 

Click Delete on the Confirm delete screen to remove the collection. 

 Note: Items contained in the deleted collection will be deleted if this was the primary collection for the item, regardless of whether the item appears in other collections. If the deleted collection was not the primary collection for the item(s), the item(s) will remain in any remaining collections where they are included.